SARDA 2017 On-Road Electric National Championship

Hein Kotze wins the 2017 Touring Mod Title

The 2017 season of the South African On-Road Electric National Championship is complete and Team Xray SA managed to crown 3 x SA National Champions and 3 x vice champions.

(f.l.t.r) Hein Kotze (Touring Modified), Jonathan Wilken (Pro-stock 13.5T), Pedro de Gouveia (F1)

Touring Modified

Hein Kotze managed to win the title in a great battle with Anderton Smith, Antonio Caroli and Jason Hillcoat.

The top 10 for Touring Modified for 2017:

1st           Hein Kotze (Xray) – Champion

2nd          Anderton Smith (Xray) – Vice Champion

3rd          Antonio Caroli (Xray)

4th          Jason Hillcoat (Tamiya)

5th          Shaun Schutte (Xray)

6th          Jacques Liebenberg (Capricorn)

7th          Conrad Liebenberg (Capricorn)

8th          Ashley Hurley (Xray)

9th          Deon Gove (Xray)

10th        Willem Janse van Rensburg (VBC Racing)

Pro-Stock (13.5T)

The competition during the season was tough with only seven points separating the top two drivers. It was Jonathan Wilken (Xray) who managed to take the title with Gunther Cornelius (Xray) managing the vice-champion title in his first season.

The top 10 for Pro-Stock (13.5T) for 2017:

1st           Jonathan Wilken (Xray) – Champion

2nd          Gunther Cornelius (Xray) – Vice Champion

3nd          Jean Wessels (Associated)

4th          Hennie Viljoen (VBC Racing)

5th          Tyronne Wilken (Yokomo)

6th          Jared Rabe (Xray)

7th          Christo Hitchins (Xray)

8th          Michael Rabe (Xray)

9th          John Fitzsimmons (Xray)

10th        Lien Liebenberg (Serpent)

Formula 1 (21.5 blinky)

In the second official season of the return of F1 to the SARDA calendar, it was Xray Teammates Pedro de Gouviea and Jonathan Wilken. With the championship decider going to the last event it was Pedro who managed to get the win in round 5 to regain championship.

The top 10 for F1 for 2017:

1st           Pedro de Gouveia (Xray) – Champion

2nd          Jonathan Wilken (Xray) – Vice Champion

3rd          Nico Kellerman (Xray)

4th          Tyronne Wilken (Yokomo)

5th          Wayde Solomon (Xray)

6th          Jared Rabe (Xray)

7th          Brett Ross (Xray)

8th          Michael Rabe (Xray)

9th          Willie Pienaar (Associated)

10th        John Fitzsimmons (Xray)

13.5T FWD Touring

It was a mix between youth and experience in 2017 with the youngster Nico Kellerman winning the title in his first season and Paul van der Westhuizen ending the season as vice champion.

The top 5 for 13.5T FWD Touring for 2017:

1st           Nico Kellerman – Champion

2nd          Paul van der Westhuizen – Vice Champion

3rd          Eugene Wessels

4th          Fanie Viljoen Snr

5th          Christopher Dolphin

6th          Tristan Joubert

7th          Sarel Pretorius

8th          Fanie Viljoen Jnr

9th          Ben Kriegler

10th        Hennie Viljoen